Letters from the Hartmanns to LCPS relating to issues that the Hartmanns wanted addressed at the IEP meeting scheduled for May 31, 1994

May 26, 1994

Edgar B. Hatrick, Ed.D. Superintendent
Loudoun County Public Schools
102 North Street, N.W.
Leesburg, Virginia 22075

Dear Dr. Hatrick,

On May 15, 1994 the undersigned parents of Mark A. Hartmann, second grader at Ashburn Elementary School, wrote a letter to Mrs. Laurie C. McDonald, Principal, that requested an 'End of Year Review/IEP Meeting.' Please see the attached copy of that letter. Subsequently, we received notice from Mrs. McDonald that the IEP conference had been arranged for rues day, May 31, 1994 at 1:30 pm at Ashburn Elementary School. Nonetheless, the response did not address several specific items of concern that were raised in our letter.

During a telephone conversation on May 20th concerning the substance of our May 15th letter, Mrs. McDonald advised that except for the selection of Mark's third grade teacher, matters concerning the screening and hiring of a teacher's aide for Mark for the 1994-95 school year, training for both the teacher and teacher's aide in preparation for next year, and Mark's summer school program were handled by various functionaries within the Loudoun county Public School System. In light of these circumstances, my spouse and I request that the IEP conference for Mark be held as scheduled, but at the Central Office with appropriate decision makers so that we may come to closure on many if not all of the items raised in our May 15th letter. Given the short lead time, we are delivering this letter by hand so that you will have as much time as possible to make appropriate arrangements.We will certainly understand if another time and date in the near future is necessary given the scope of our request.

Thank you in advance for your understanding and cooperation. Pleased be assured of our highest esteem.

Sincerely yours,
Joseph & Roxana Hartmann

cc: Ned Waterhouse
Laurie McDonald
Mary Kearny
Frank Johnson
Virginia MCCullough
Dianne Johnson
Carolyn Clement


Next >>